Pelley Law Office LLP
Dallas Office
Plano Office
Sherman Office
214-733-1775
972-608-0335
903-813-4778

No Charge For Initial Consultation ($250 value)

Menu Contact

Over 80 Years Of Combined Experience

View Our Practice Areas

DUI or DWI?

Although the terms DUI and DWI are often used interchangeably, there are important distinctions between the two that Texans should know for their own benefit and that of their children's. The distinction between DWI and DUI has mostly to do with age and sometimes with the level of intoxication. If you are not of legal age to drink, under 21, you can be charged with a DUI or a DWI. If you are over 21 you can only be charged with a DWI. In Texas, Driving While Intoxicated, the first charge, is a crime that can carry with it up to 180 days in jail, and up to a $2,000 fine. The punishments for this offense are harsher than those carried with a DUI but the level of intoxication has a higher threshold than with a DUI. In order for the state to convict someone of DWI, they must prove that the driver of a motor vehicle either had above a .08 BAC, Blood Alcohol Content, or lost the normal use of their mental or physical faculties due to the introduction of alcohol, a drug, or a combination of the two. You can receive a DWI at any age and, with each conviction, the possible time in jail and the possible fees go up as do the personal ramifications on your part.

Texas DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, is a crime that can only be committed by a minor under 21. The controlling statute is the Alcohol Beverage Code ยง106.041. In order for the state to prove that the minor is Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol, the state must prove they were operating a motor vehicle in a public place while having ANY detectable amount of alcohol in their system: because it is not legal for a minor to be under the influence of any alcohol. However, as mentioned before, those under 21 can be charged with a DWI if the police believe that he or she has a .08 BAC or higher, or they have lost the normal use of their mental or physical faculties.

Either charge holds very serious implications for you or your child. Beyond the fees and possible jail time mentioned above, you will also likely have some form of probation, fees for that, possible alcohol monitoring devices for your person or your car, fees for that as well, your Drivers License will be automatically suspended, you will be ordered to do many hours of community service, and you can be refused a loan and even refused employment opportunities. Obviously the cost can be high, both financially and personally, so the investment in qualified and experienced representation is an absolute must.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Awards & Recognition

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Locations

Plano office
Sherman office
Dallas office

Plano Office
1312 14th Street, Suite 100
Plano, Texas 75074

Phone: 972-608-0335
Map & Directions

Sherman Office
905 North Travis Street
Sherman, Texas 75090

Phone: 903-813-4778
Map & Directions

Dallas Office
6060 North Central Expressway, Suite 602
Dallas, Texas 75206

Phone: 214-733-1775
Map & Directions