Getting a DWI in Texas is a big deal. You've violated the law, and you're likely going to face penalties as a result. Without a strong defense, there's a chance you could end up in prison or facing penalties you don't deserve.
Anyone accused of a DWI has a right to an attorney and should use that right. DWI laws are harsh, and if a conviction goes through, it has the potential to damage your life in many ways. A DWI could result in a loss of a job, strain on your personal relationships, fines and other penalties.
Texas is hard on drunk driving for a reason: Someone is hurt or killed in Texas every 20 minutes because of it. As with other states, the limit for drunk driving is a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration.
What happens if you're arrested for drunk driving?
If you end up with a traffic stop for drunk driving, the officer may ask you to provide a breath sample. If you do and fail the test, then you may end up being taken to the police station and placed in jail. You'll be charged with a DWI. You can also face a DWI if you're accused of driving under the influence of drugs.
There are a few things that affect your case. First, if you're driving with an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, you'll automatically face a fine of $500. Additionally, if you have a passenger in your vehicle under the age of 15, you could face a fine of up to $10,000. You'll also face a possibility of spending two years in a state jail and lose your license for 180 days. It's a much more serious offense if you're caught with a child in your vehicle at the time you're accused of drunk driving.
What happens on a first offense?
A first offense may be a one-time mistake, but it still comes with significant penalties. You'll face fines of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail with a three-day minimum, an annual fee of between $1,000 and $2,000 for three years to keep an active driver's license and lose your license for up to a year.
If those seem like significant penalties, then you may be surprised by the penalties for a third offense. Third offenses cost you up to $10,000 and may lead to up to 10 years in prison. You will lose your license for up to two years and be fined between $1,000 and $2,000 for three years to keep an active license.
A DWI has the potential to change your life, and the above are just a few things that could happen. Understand your rights to prevent serious repercussions for years to come.