The state of Texas doesn't deal kindly with shoplifters. Even those accused of taking an item worth $20 could receive a $500 fine and up to a year in jail. First time offenders and those taking things that the court considers basic survival items, such as non-luxury food items, may receive more lenient sentencing. Overall, however, repeat offenders and those taking items for personal pleasure may face serious consequences for shoplifting in Texas. For those accused of shoplifting something worth $1,500 or more, the charges could increase from misdemeanor charges to felony theft charges.
Felony theft charges carry hefty punishments, including between 180 days and two years in jail and a fine of as much as $10,000. If you're facing felony theft charges over alleged shoplifting, you should speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.