Public Intoxication in Texas
Public Intoxication in the Texas Penal Code is typically a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500.00, and a permanent criminal conviction. After two convictions, repeat offenders can be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor, facing up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000.00 fine.
- How serious is a Public Intoxication charge in Texas? Very serious. They are easy to get, and impossible to get rid of if you do not get the case dismissed. Paying the citation will result in a permanent criminal conviction. You want to get an experienced criminal defense lawyer from the outset to avoid a lifetime of consequences and regret.
- Does a Public Intoxication show on a background check? Yes. Unless your lawyer gets the charge dismissed and the citation expunged. Otherwise, it can permanently appear on background checks, negatively impacting job opportunities. That is where we come in. We are here to help you remove this mistake from your record as quickly as possible.
What Is Public Intoxication In Texas?
Under Texas law, a person commits the offense of Public Intoxication if the person appears in a public place while intoxicated to the degree that the person may endanger the person or another.
- What is the definition of ‘Intoxication’ in Texas? Intoxication is defined in Texas as having lost the normal use of your mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, or any combination thereof.